Swimming Pools over 24″ high will need to obtain a permit. More information is available in the “News” section at the bottom of the page. —- The  Sesquicentennial Headquarters / Store (110 West 2nd Street) is now open!   The store hours are:  Mondays 10am-3pm  Thursdays 3pm-7pm  and Saturdays 10am-3pm. 

City Council


The City Council is the city’s main governing body and meets the first and third Tuesday of each month to perform formal business. The fourth Monday of the month the City Council holds the Committee of Whole meeting where they discuss but do not conduct official business.

Eight council members, two selected from each of the four wards, serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor is elected by a city-wide election held every four years and serves as the chairperson of the Council.

The Council has a diverse number of powers. In general terms, it sets policy for the city. It devises a budget for the year and approves it, appoints members to committees serving the city, approves new hires with the city and sets the tax levy for the year. Additionally it determines speed limits within town, decides where stop signs should be placed, and attends to the Electric, Water, Sewer and Garbage utilities. They also oversee the Police and Fire departments as well as ensures public safety through the (ESDA) and the building department.

Please feel free to contact any of the City Council through the main offices at City Hall by phone (815) 622-1100 or fax (815) 622-1113.

City Aldermen

You may contact any of the City Aldermen via information below or contact City Hall at 815-622-1100.

Find out which ward you live in by viewing our ward map.

First Ward

Alderman Reitzel

Daehle Reitzel
(815) 716-3343

Second Ward

Glen Kulemier

Glen Kuhlemier
(815) 626-5573

Third Ward

Alderman Schuneman

Jim Schuneman
(815) 716-6745

Fourth Ward

Alderman Folsom

Lee Folsom
(815) 441-7803


George Logan, Jr.
(815) 716-1770

Alderman Snow

Brian Snow
(815) 535-7041

Rod Kleckler
(815) 590-1950

Committees, Boards & Commissions

Each City Alderman is a member of one of the committees, which assist the council. Committees make recommendations to the City Council and in turn the Council acts on those recommendations.

Below is information on each of the committees and boards.

ADA Review Committee

Meets: First Wednesday of every other month (every two months) at the Rock Falls Living Center.

Overview:  The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Review Committee discusses any ADA complaints or issues within the City of Rock Falls. The Committee reviews the city’s Accessibility Plan, and checks compliance with the Illinois accessibility code.

Chair: Mark Searing


  • Alan Petersohn
  • Emily Witt
  • Sandy Lichner
  • Glen Kuhlemier
  • Mike Maxwell
Building Code Committee

Meets: First Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. at the City Hall North End conference rooms.

Overview: The Building Code Committee discusses changes to building codes and issues concerning the building department. The committee keeps track of abandoned houses, and city code violations.

Chair: Brian Snow


  • Lee Folsom
  • Rod Kleckler
  • Mark Searing, Building Dept.
  • Sally Scanlan
  • Chris King
Committee of the Whole

Meets: As necessary on the fourth Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Overview: The Committee of the Whole is a meeting of the entire City Council that is brought together to discuss a specific item. The meeting is typically for information only.

Electric Committee

Meets: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 8:15 a.m. at the Electric Department.

Overview: The Electric Committee discusses issues concerning the Electric Department, Customer Service Office, billing, broadband, and information technology.

Chair: Jim Schuneman


  • Glen Kuhlemier
  • George Logan, Jr.
Façade Improvement Committee



Chair: Lee Folsom, Chairman


  • Mark Searing
  • Gayla Kolb, RFCDC
  • Tourism Rep.
  • Bob Klomann
  • Jeff Guthrie
Finance/Insurance/Investment Committee

Meets: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:00p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Overview: This committee provides a monthly review of the city’s investments. They also creates the yearly budget and handle liability and health insurance issues for the city.

Chair: Glen Kuhlemier


  • George Logan
  • Rod Kleckler
Groundwater Protection Committee

Meets: As needed

Overview: The Groundwater Protection Committee is an ad hoc committee that discusses issues relating to the safety of drinking water within the city.

Chair: Ted Padilla


  • Gene Johnston
  • Todd Purdy
  • Matt Hansen
  • Joe Behrens
Hennepin Canal Committee

Meets: Second Thursday of each month at 12:00 p.m in the City Hall Council Chamber.

Overview: This committee was formed to discusses issues concerning the Hennepin Canal and towpath, the recreational trail and prairie areas through the city.

Chair: Jim Schuneman


  • Lee Folsom
  • Brian Snow
  • Mr. Larry Spinka, Street Department
  • Mr. John Larson, Citizen
  • Mr. Tim Keller, Citizen
  • Mr. Mike Sterba, Director Coloma Park District
  • Mr. Brian Tribley, Firehouse of God Ministries
  • RRDA Member Representative
  • IDNR Representative
Industrial Development Commission

Meets: Third Thursday of each month at 4:00p.m. in the City Hall north end conference rooms.

Overview: The committee is involved in the sale and use of land within the Rock Falls Industrial Parks.

Chair: Jeff Bright


  • Brian Snow
  • Glen Kuhlemier
Ordinance/License/Personnel/Safety Committee

Meets: Fourth Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall north end conference rooms.

Overview: This committee creates and amends city code and licenses. The committee reviews any workplace injuries or liability claims. This committee also discusses personnel issues with city employees.

Chair: Daehle Reitzel


  • Brian Snow
Planning and Zoning Commission

Meets: Second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Overview: The board reviews zoning changes and variances brought to the city by land owners.

Acting Chair: Mark Vandersnick


  • Terry Wolf
  • Tony Sosi
  • Rick Turnroth
  • Chuck Koehler
  • Mike Spain
  • Don Koehler
  • Alderman George Logan Jr.
Police and Fire Committee

Meets: As needed.

Overview: The Police and Fire Committee is an ad hoc committee that discusses matters arising within the Police and  Fire Departments.

Chair: Lee Folsom


  • Rod Kleckler
Public Works Committee

Meets: First Thursday of each month at 4:00p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Overview: The committee discussed issues and updates from the Water, Wastewater, and Street Departments. The committee also discusses items concerning city owned properties throughout Rock Falls.

Chair: Daehle Reitzel


  • Rod Kleckler
  • Jim Schuneman
RB&W Greenspace Review Committee





  • Jim Schuneman
  • Brian Snow
  • Mayor Wescott
Social Media Ad Hoc Committee

Meets: Meetings are called as needed  

Overview: The Social Media Committee is an ad hoc committee that discusses the City’s Social Media presence.


  • Jim Schuneman
  • Brian Snow
  • Mayor Wescott
Tourism Committee

Meets: Second Tuesday of each month at 9:00 a.m.

Overview: The Tourism Committee meets monthly to develop strategies, programs, and policies to promote tourism in Rock Falls. The committee makes recommendations to the City Council for spending on advertising and the promotion of Rock Falls as a destination. The Tourism committee works with other convention and visitors bureaus to help promote events in the City of Rock Falls.

Chair: George Logan, Jr.


  • Glen Kuhlemier
  • Jim Schuneman
  • (4) Municipal Hotel Representatives
  • Coloma Park District, Director
  • Tourism Director-City of Rock Falls
  • Chamber Board Executive Board Rep.

Today’s Meetings

There are no meetings today.